Timing is Not a Digital Literacy

I’d just read this essay yesterday morning (Antero Garcia did amazing things with “at risk” high school kids and digital media when he was a high school teacher and is now doing great things as a college teacher) in which he talked about introducing many tools early in a course.  “No problem”, I thought.   “He had 50 minute periods.  I have 3 hours”.

And then I  watched the clock tick away last night, thinking, dam*.

There is absolutely no good way to predict the timing of this new sort of teaching.   That’s just the way it is.

And it’s still worth doing.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Timing is Not a Digital Literacy

  1. wendyfujinaga

    Having a similar experience from the other side, watching the clock tick away the minutes then hours. How long is it “supposed” to take to read blogs, find one that piques interest to comment on, then create a thoughtful comment that inspires a return comment or sparks further dialogue. This new digital literacy is challenging in an entirely new way – learning to focus on the river of information that flows through, swiftly sort through the chaff, and find the gold. Then Diigo it.

    • Yes. And it’s a new skill we have to learn. So my screen life now is structure of open tabs, always in the same position so I can click through. And my apps are set up for quick reads on my bus. I’ll show you the Reader that I briefly showed you last week — I have many things I’ve found to be of value all feeding into the same tab (like our motherboard, but even more streamlined).

      For years, researchers have lamented the decline in time that people spend reading. Often these studies are still looking at “books”. But digging further, we’re likely reading and writing more than ever.

      • I’d like to see your reader. I am getting better (read:
        faster) at finding things and recognizing their potential future use and usefulness to myself and others. Haven’t set up a reader for myself yet, but am still digging through the types of information that I’ll find useful. Believe it or not, I just started using bookmarks and the Google Reader. I have been following a few blogs outside of school for awhile now, and have been receiving them as emails but am just realizing that I can get them incorporated into a reader. Voila!

  2. I just read the article that prompted your post and listened to the short audio recording at StoryCorps of the student and teacher (touching and inspiring). Love the quote from the article “We’re going to fix things when students can make personal interactions with teachers that are meaningful and when that culturally relevant curriculum reflects their own experiences, whether it’s on a device or on a chalkboard.”
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

